Cowes Sports – Saturday 11th November 2017 (840)

“Despite the club putting elaborate plans into place, it just didn’t look likely now that the Match Of The Day team would be turning up…”

From what I’m given to understand, we need less sleep as we get older. Try telling that to our cat! But it’s hopefully the case as I contemplate the prospect of enjoying barely 4 hours kip in a 40-hour period, courtesy of the fact that I booked gig tickets for a Friday night, when I knew I’d gotta be up at 4.00 in the morning to catch the East Midlands Trains ‘red-eye’ into London. Doh!

Mind you, when Nothing But Thieves come to town, sensible thinking goes out of the window. Possibly Indie rock’s ‘best kept secret’ I’ve been a fan for nearly three years, the first gig back in 2015 when half the meagre audience hadn’t even heard of them. And for this concert I’m accompanied by my teenage daughter, who’s also got the NBT bug!

I’m never entirely sure why Nottingham’s Rock City remains so popular with fans and bands alike, given that the acoustics are rarely anything other than shitty. But groups such as the Stranglers – who I first saw there back in the early 1980s – come back time after time, as do the likes of Billy Bragg and the Happy Mondays, all scheduled for the next few weeks. Also an act called ‘Arse Full Of Chips’ whose career must have passed me by, but are well worthy of a mention merely for that name alone!

So as I board the Saturday morning 5.30 into London, faced with the prospect of a trek to a soggy South Coast, I’m just a little bit bleary-eyed…..

My original target for today was Hamworthy United of the Wessex Premier. I had rail tickets to Poole already booked and paid for, but had failed to appreciate the possibility of the FA Vase draw muddying the waters. True to form, that team’s home game is postponed, but by good fortune is replaced with an away fixture at Cowes Sports. So if I abort my rail journey at Southampton, then the Isle of Wight comes into play. What can possibly go wrong?

What can possibly go wrong is the weather, and with the tail-end of a tropical storm smothering the south of England, that old bogey of a waterlogged pitch scenario becomes a real possibility. Frantic Whatsapp and Twitter activity gives me enough confidence to buy a Red Funnel ferry ticket at Southampton ferry terminal (£11 for an oldies day trip) and I kill some time by nipping into the Spitfire, a ‘faux-Wetherspoons’ boozer in Soton. The pubs sells Marston’s group beers, and my Ringwood Forty-Niner is appreciably colder than I would like, but that appears to be the modern way.

Back at the ferry terminal, I join a queue which includes all the playing and coaching staff from Hamworthy United (I am informed by a friend who knows about these things that it’s too expensive to take a team coach across to the Isle of Wight, so most clubs utilise the foot ferry/taxi approach) for the 25-minute journey by SeaCat, which fairly whizzes across the waves. One of the team is going round selling a football card – y’know the sort, pay a quid and pick a team – and I speculate that it’s probably to raise funds to help with the cost of the ferry cost journey!

My first port-of-call on landing on the island is the Cowes Ale House, as cosy a micro pub as you will find anywhere. Three cask beers are on tap, and I go for the Andwell 5 Little Fishes, primarily because it being the most local of the breweries, but mostly because it’s the right colour for a bitter beer!

I arrive at the ground just as yet another band of rain has passed, and the guy on the gate confirms that the match is still on, but that another downpour could seriously jeopardise the situation. As I do a quick tour of the ground, entirely dominated by a sizeable main stand with a covered area of flat standing adjacent, I’m rather praying that the rain gods look favourably upon us, which thankfully turns out to be the case as I kill time with a bottle of Doom Bar in the bar. Sadly no island beers are available at this island football club, although I’m curious as to how much keg Theakstons Mild (on draught) they are likely to sell this far south.

Today’s contest would seem to favour the visitors, who are having a much more productive season than the home side, and they are the better side in a first half that nonetheless sees them go in a goal down at half time, having also missed a penalty. Indeed they pull level shortly after the break, but then two well-taken goals in the space of six minutes by an invigorated Cowes Sports turns the game on its head. Suddenly there’s an urgency all over the park, tackles are flying in, opponents are being barged, nudged and tripped, the referee is making unpopular – but generally correct – calls, and it seems that Sports will hold out, as in fact they do, but not before they’ve conceded a second, and then almost an equaliser.

In fact the kind of game it’s actually worth getting up at 4.00 in the morning for, even though I’m now facing a 7-hour return trek that will involve a ferry, and two rail journeys. My only regret is I didn’t bring a nice comfy pillow along for the ride!

Programme: £1.00 on the turnstile. A modest effort but perfectly adequate for Step 5 football

Floodlights: 6 pylons

Birdlife: On a small island surrounded by seawater, what d’ya reckon?

Toilets: In the foyer of the clubhouse

Club Shop: No

Music the players emerge to: Lust For Life was playing at that time. In fact an eclectic and generally interesting pre-match music mix played over the speakers, including some Beatles stuff.

Leave a Reply

