Damp squib

Well would you Adam & Eve it.

I venture out non-league for the first time in weeks only to see my game postponed.

I take a bus from Loughborough to Quorn in Leicestershire heading for the big crunch match in the East Midlands Counties League between 2nd placed Barrow Town and visiting league leaders Basford United. Those who know Barrow’s Riverside Park ground will be familiar with the footbridge that spans the A6 and affords a virtual ariel view of the playing surface. At 1.00pm there is some surface water in the centre circle and a puddle in each goalmouth – nothing a couple of handy men with a pitchfork and stiff brush couldn’t have dealt with in fifteen minutes or so. The rest of the pitch appears fine. I continue on my way into Barrow Upon Soar village and the Navigation Inn – the ‘birthplace’ of my real ale drinking – to enjoy a pint of the house beer (actually Caledonian 80/-), a pint of Theakston Old Peculier ( the nearest thing they stock to the Shipstone’s Mild I used to quaff here in my ‘yoath’) and the company of a fellow Forest fan for an hour or so.

I return to Riverside Park to observe that no action has been taken against the puddles, the game is clearly off (confirmed on the EMCL website) and – the trip to the Navvy aside – this sojourn to my village roots wasted.

And then suddenly I remember reading something in the local paper  – Barrow have their captain and their leading goalscorer both unavailable today due to work commitments. Clearly THEY would have been the guys earmarked to fork and brush the water off the pitch!

That explains everything.

2 Responses to Damp squib

  1. BTFC Webmaster says:

    The game was called off by the match referee Michael Scriven at 11am as the centre circle was completely waterlogged – not by the Club. The groundstaff had arrived at 8.30am to try and get the game on, the kitchen staff arrived at 9am and started prepping for the match, 150 programmes had been printed – a wasted effort on everyones part, so I find your suggestion that there was a lack of effort to get the game on quite offensive.

    Every game in the EMCL was called off last weekend due to the weather

  2. flynn123 says:

    Ah, a man without a sense of humour. Despite this castigation, my love affair with BTFC will continue unabated – unless of course I’m now banned for life. Where’s me fake beard and glasses…..

Leave a Reply

