Robin ‘Chat’ Chatterjee

I’ve met a few good guys during my years of football travelling, and none more so than ‘Chat’ Chatterjee of Wolverhampton.

I got to know him when I was working in that town in the late 1980s and was trying to find out the location of the ground where Wolves Youth Team played. They were hosting Forest Youth, and in the company of my old pal Nick, I was going to see that game in the morning and move onto Forest at Birmingham in the FA Cup the same afternoon. Not only did Chat supply directions, he invited me to a Wolves home game the previous night, and offered to come with us to St Andrews for the cup game, in his car – with West Midlands plates – so as to thwart the neanderthals looking for ‘away’ vehicles to trash (this was pre-Hillsborough so idiots were rife.)

We struck up a great friendship, going to each other’s weddings, and he came to the odd Forest game when Wolves commitments would allow. We travelled to numerous Wolves games in the late 80s and early 90s, and went to Scotland together for the last Scotland-England Home International at Hampden Park, when Steve Bull scored. I last saw him at the Emirates in February this year, when I took my son to see Wolves play Arsenal.

Chat collapsed and died at Tenerife airport on Sunday night while waiting for a flight home following a short holiday with some Wolves chums.

Like I said, one of the good guys…..

++

People can leave anecdotes about Chat on the Daventry Dun Cow Wolverhampton Wanderers Football Club Supporters Club site at http://www.ddcwwfcsc.co.uk/

One Response to Robin ‘Chat’ Chatterjee

  1. Dave Benton says:

    I went to school with Chat and I last saw him when Wolves played QPR a few weeks back. I mentioned that I’d seen him on TV at the England game in Bulgaria. Went to many matches with him over the years. Very sad news.

    Dave Benton

Leave a Reply

