A window of opportunity!

The Christmas schedule was desperate as expected and although we did enjoy seeing the poorest Liverpool side I’ve ever seen in my 45 years of footy-watching well beaten at Anfield – whilst Forest were ramming it up the Shaggers back home – I’m desperate for some action on New Year weekend… and the weather SHOULD be favourable, at least on Saturday.

Trouble is, there’s a limited lower league schedule. I did have fleeting thoughts of booking a late 440 to London and going to Croydon, but if that game is called off, my other options are few. So I’m sort of left with making the 150 mile round trip to AFC Sudbury, or spending a happy lunchtime necking Hemlock in the Vat & Fiddle before watching the Trickies thrash Barnsley. Watch this space.

I can also get to Prestatyn Town v Bangor City on Sunday as it’s just £22.60 by return rail from Long Eaton. Pig of a journey, though, via Brum and Crewe, with limited drinking time. The press officer for P.T. recently posted an invite on the blog for me to come and see them, so I am tempted, especially as they’re playing runaway Welsh Premier leaders Bangor. Problem is, Sunday is usually FAMILY day, so my luck I probably can’t afford to push!

Which brings me to Monday 3rd, and despite that tempting Isthmian North double of Tilbury and Thamesmead, I might set my sights nearer home and take in Ibstock v Barrow Town (my old village team) in the East Midlands Counties League at 12.30, followed by one of the 3.00 kick-offs in the Midland Football Alliance, possibly Boldmere.

Well that’s the plan. It may all go belly up with a sudden dip in temperature. Who knows?

UPDATE FRIDAY 31st PM – currently looking like Sudbury on Saturday with my old Forest mate Nick, Prestatyn on the Sunday which according to reports will be a Hoppers convention, and then praying that Sunday night’s frost isn’t too severe to affect Mondays plans.

Leave a Reply

